Breakout rooms are an alternative to pushing attendees to your Rooms tab. With this feature, rather than pushing attendees to the overview of the rooms available, you are sending them directly into that room to network with other attendees.
A few other things that you should know about breakout rooms:
- Breakout rooms are not created ahead of time. They are something that is triggered manually during the event when you're ready to send attendees to their small groups. However, if you want to pre-assign people to breakout rooms, you'd create a CSV file ahead of time to upload at the time of the event. More on this a bit later!
- You do not need to create rooms ahead of time, the rooms will be created when you trigger this feature
- The breakout rooms tab will only appear after attendees have been sent to these rooms. Once you end the breakout room session, this tab will disappear
- If you opt to pre-assign your breakout rooms (and not send all attendees to random rooms) then only those who have been assigned to a breakout room will see this tab, the other attendees will not know that these breakout sessions are occurring.
This is how you can start and end breakout rooms:
Login to your control room panel (reach out to your customer success manager for help accessing this).
To pre-assign breakout rooms: click "Upload Preassigned CSV" (column 1 is the room number, Column 2 is the attendee email)
When formatting the CSV, do not include headers.
After this pre-assigned list is uploaded (ignore if you're dividing attendees up randomly), click "Create Breakout Session."
If you upload a pre-assigned list, under Random you will also see the option to choose your pre-assigned list instead.
If you do choose random, you will want to change the room size to the number of attendees that you'd like to have in each room.
Once done, click "Create Breakouts." Attendees will then receive a notification on their end and can either accept the invite to join their breakout room, or ignore the invitation. At this time, a tab called "Breakout" will also appear in their event page. Only attendees invited to the breakouts will see this tab.
If an attendee ignores the notification to join this breakout room initially, they are still able to click into the breakout rooms tab to join their pre-assigned room.
When attendees do click to join their breakout room, they will see a screen where they are able to see what they look like on camera prior to joining the room. They will then click the button reading "I'm Ready" prior to entering the room.
When you are ready to end breakout rooms, go back to your control room and click "End Breakout Session."